Maybe canceled

Maybe more collective than you think

Maybe unwell or anxious

Maybe ultra professional

Maybe for the camera

Maybe pulling or being pulled along  

Maybe being imposed upon

Ivanie_nu

How the image invites us to move

Les Trous dans les yeux is a collective practice combining still archival images and live performance.

I asked of myself and of the performers to dip into their personal archives and share a few photos of childhood and a few professional photos of their dancing careers.  I wanted to probe our memories of small and big details, far and near in time, personal and professional.

I then proposed a dance practice and a greenscreen scenography to explore the images in story and movement.

Each day in the studio, one of us would describe and tell a story of an image. We would ask questions; probing the different angles and edges of the story. As a group we did not see the image itself, but through the dance practice the photo would sometimes be revealed, somewhat revealed, or not at all.

The dance practice was not an aim of re-enactment,  or a telling of a story we already knew, but practicing the potential of seemingly minor moments of our past selves. Our aim became feeling and moving with the unfinished nature of these images.

Elements of the Dance Practice

One person at a time enter the space
Move the objects and set up a new space (surtout the first person)
Invite the image and story into the body, How to invite another into your body
Move into the edges, move into the framings
Vibrate the space
Listen and adapt to this new presence, Our bodies as gatherers of energy
Echo what action has just happened
Care for the shift that just happened
Trust that the dance resonate with the story
Témoignages de trous | k.g. Guttman © Clark Ferguson

In photo: Angie Cheng and her friend
circa 1984
Unknown photographer
Location: School yard, Chinatown Ottawa

In photo: Paul Chambers
circa 1990
Name of photographer: probably his mother
Location: Saint-Henri, Montreal

In photo: k.g. Guttman
circa 2001
Name of photographer: Tony Chong
Location: Ottawa Arts Court, Le Groupe Dance Lab


In photo: Marie Claire Forté
Choreography: Marie Claire Forté
2014
Name of photographer: Alanna Kraaijeveld
Location: Circuit-Est, Studio C, Montreal

In photo: Koichi Yano and Rob Abubo
Choreography by Tony Chong
circa 2003
Name of Photographer: Lisa Hébert
Location: Ottawa Arts Court, Le Groupe Dance Lab

In photo: Ivanie Aubin-Malo and her cousin
circa 1996-1997
Name of photographer: probably Johanne Aubin
Location: Ville de St-Hubert, QC


Témoignages de trous | k.g. Guttman © Clark Ferguson

Discussion

Discussion, Last day of residency, January 29, 2021
Espace Bleu, Agora de la danse

 

Ivanie There is something that hasn’t settled. The storyteller does not have the full freedom to tell all. We have to be sensitive how we tell our stories and where it might lead others in their own stories. I had this experience with Marie Claire, her testimony brought me into my own stories. Paul had a similar experience with Rob’s story.

 

Paul In that moment [ after Rob’s story] I didn’t have a question, but wanted to engage in a conversation, but we hadn’t made a space for that. I think the six of us could take about anything for hours. How to make sure we could move altogether after that ? And I felt all alone. I sat and stared at the screen, taking the time to process through the work. It was a feeling that the conversation around the story wasn’t possible, which happens all the time in life.

 

k.g.  It’s not just the photo that gives off content, but the whole situation. I didn’t give the story much weight at the beginning. As we went along, we took the time, we added the questions: it takes a lot of technique and care to tell a story. I underestimated those ways of working at first.

 

Paul The practice has changed since the beginning. When we came in, it was more focused on echoing each other’s actions. And we were all working on that initial proposal. Going in, you didn’t get as much from the story as I do now. And I don’t know if that’s because we are making… the story becoming more relevant in response to what we were doing.

 

Rob I disagree with Paul. For me, I am being fed by so many other things than what we are saying, including all the things we have said in days past. I am able to access so much more than the twenty minute story as something to source from when it’s my turn to go in.

We have collective knowledge of unsaid parts of the story because we have heard another version t before.

 

Angie The story, this has come up before, is it too complete?  While listening to the story I take it in , but I don’t try to hold the whole thing or anything too tightly.

I observe myself watching. I making choices to look elsewhere, not where the action is, why is that? Because I am not being so attached to things, or to the story…

I’m not defining it too hard, not flattening the image, the storytelling is expanding outside of the frame, it’s not fixed nor flat, it has all these textures. If the image/story is too present in our choices, or if we are trying too hard to communicate the image/story, it becomes too defined, too clear of a picture.

 

Rob The reality of not being able to hug each other, or just come up and start working on your legs as we warm up. This touchy normal we used to have has been stifled…but we are kind of used to it now. Touch would be a way of dealing with what we are dealing with in the room. Personal subject matter, I would want to hug someone after, that emotional way of supporting, not just support that person with my dancing.

 

Marie Claire I love dancing in all the ways. I love touching and listening and feeling. The studio is ever more sacred, and I was feeling this way before the pandemic.

Témoignages de trous | k.g. Guttman © Clark Ferguson

Refelction

To work with archives is to lean into a non-linear time, to understand images as forces, personal and historical, to be in relation.

 

This project takes place on un-ceded Indigenous lands, lands and waters of which the Kanien’kehá:ka are recognized as the traditional custodians. The project takes place during a worldwide pandemic and within a political context of systemic racism.

 

The consciousness of this complexity, and of my position as a settler-guest-dancer, informs how I choreograph and dance. My autobiography and agency is caught up with greater socio-political forces. I am a white settler artist, and I have invited both white artists, indigenous, and artists of color into my process. This invitation to others is a demand for care and an accounting for relations, vulnerabilities, and differences, an engagement to not deny we are dancing with historical traces on our backs.

 

This project is not a demand to divulge one’s personal experience in order to become transparent or knowable, or in order to tell a clearly defined story—but to make an attempt, through memory, vibration, and movement, to discover intimacies in unexpected ways.

 

I view Les trous dans les yeux as a decolonial engagement in contemporary dance;  a practice that understands that situating identity/ autobiography are the first necessary steps to account for one’s location and capacities, in order to imagine new forms of relations.

It is a dance practice that invites storytelling, remembering, and listening into the black box theatre and into the performer’s bodies, in order to take on the not so simple documentary and speculative beauty of dancing

Témoignages de trous | k.g. Guttman © Clark Ferguson

Bios

Rob Abubo

The work is me, us, the team, our past(s), memories, fictions…
I am a boy from Winnipeg, with siblings, dead, alive. a naked child, at first, then another, with a friend in Ottawa. I lived there off Somerset when I worked at le Groupe, before cell phones. Clark (who filmed all this) was waiting in the apartment.
As one of many, I’m willing to walk someone to the edge, but discovered that hosting a group onto the precipice is uncomfortable for many.
I love my friend, who has a nickname. She’s really funny, and has been photo documenting the career.
As a child I didn’t choose what instrument to play, my parents did.
I am carried by everyone, known to me, and unknown.
I seriously don’t mean to break shit, maybe I’m just super strong?
I like that I have a special photo/souvenir/memory of that time in Ottawa. My arms look longer than in real life: perspective.
People hear my story and think I’ve had it hard, but the opposite is true: we’re still here, and I’m better from being part of this team.
truly, ROBERT ABUBO

Angie Cheng

Angie Cheng is a Montreal-based dance artist. Collaborative creation processes ground her ongoing research in performance; investigating the liminal space between creative process and performance event, between spectator and performer. The embodied and specific understandings that arise from these investigations shape her current questions and engagements both in her own work and with others.

Trust in the story, trust in the work. We are all listening to it together. That is all that it needs to do.
As much as I am making decisions I am following and observing in real time, I try not to hold onto any previous predicting or planning as it can feel too defined.

I stay in those moments with the immediate tasks that I am doing till they are done.
Allowing space for the observers to see/connect through their lens.

Trust in the story.
We are all listening to it together.

Ivanie Aubin-Malo

Nil nteliwis Ivanie, my name is Ivanie.

I never thought that my solo at Short and Sweet in January 2016 would start a creative cycle with k.g. and Marie-Claire. I didn’t realize the moment at the Agora bar on rue Cherrier singing “Robabubo” with Rob and Stacey, nor the opening night of the Fringe at Summerhall with Paul and Angie, would also be a continuation of this cycle.
I enjoy throwing myself into life and be surprised by its movements and encounters. These flashes of life, that have not been captured by devices, exist substantially in my visual and sensory memory.

We all gathered in the studio, January 2021.
Two key forces for me: rhythm, emotion.
Emotion is closely linked to the rhythm and the intensity of the moment.
The gestures that accompany the story told affect me.
I am the youngest of the group, so the temporal distance between the images and my present is less stretched than others. Surely a force to consider?

k.g. Guttman

A choreographer and researcher, a dancer, a single mother, a bit tree-like, a host, a guest, a settler scholar, who thinks about relational forces moving through her.

As soon as we arrived in l’Espace Bleu, on January 6th,2021, the announcement arrived in Montreal for the curfew and the re-confinement, and the violent insurrection south of the border. How to work on becoming super sensitive to others, in the midst of COVID’s threat.

How Not to capture, contain or hold on too tightly to predefined things.

To work with, as Julietta Singh says, “the body as an infinite collection of bodyings.”

Paul Chambers

Paul graduated from John Abbott College in the Professional Theatre Program, specialization in Design in 2005. From 2008 until 2013 Paul is Technical Director at Tangente: a contemporary dance presenter in Montreal. In his five year tenure he coached 16 emerging technicians and began collaborating as a designer on numerous dance productions.

In 2013 along with fellow designer & educator David-Alexandre Chabot, they inaugurate CHA a design collective aimed at creating & sharing design based works with artists across different disciplines. What unifies CHA’s body of work is the way that it communicates with people, each production challenging the audience to place itself at the center of the proposition and to experience it from within. Paul is continually studying and exploring in the visual arts, where he blends his passion for lighting with in-situ & gallery based installations.

Marie Clair Forté

I am Marie Claire Forté, a white and cisgender woman. I live in Tiohtià:ke/Montréal, where I was born (but not where I grew up). I dance, choreograph, write, translate and teach. I am the mother of Imogen Keith, three years old, and her presence among us is force that courses through me daily. With her, I bathe in love, listening, observation, wonder, discovery and creativity, as much as vulnerability, care, community, attachment, autonomy and emotions (rage, among others). I am inspired by the relational, experiential and experimental potential of dance. My family and community support my artistic practice. Artists and thinkers who inspire me, in random order (and I am certainly forgetting some): Laurie Anderson, Alice Munro, Adrian Piper, Maggie Nelson, Rosanna Deerchild, Tracey Clayton, Heben Nigatu, Brittany Luse, Eric Eddings and Roxane Gay (whom I have never met); Susan Macpherson, Peter Boneham, k.g. Guttman, Sophie Bélair Clément, Alanna Kraaijeveld, Louise Bédard, Catherine Lalonde and Sylvie Lachance. Recently, Rob Abubo introduced me to Erykah Badu’s album But You Can’t Use My Phone (2015) and it reminded me of how much music is a sustaining force for me. Light is another important one

k. g. Guttman

April 1 to June 30, 2021

Share

Peut-être annulé

Peut-être plus collectif qu’il n’y paraît

Peut-être malade ou anxieux

Peut-être très professionnel

Peut-être destiné à la caméra

Peut-être tirant les ficelles ou se laissant entraîner 

Peut-être imposé

Ivanie_nu

Comment l’image invite au mouvement

Les trous dans les yeux est une pratique collective qui allie photographies d’archives et performance.

À ma demande, les performeur.se.s et moi-même avons puisé dans nos archives personnelles afin de partager des photographies de notre enfance ainsi que des photographies professionnelles issues de nos carrières respectives de danseur.se.s. Je souhaitais sonder nos souvenirs — proches ou lointains, personnels ou professionnels — des détails mineurs ou significatifs. J’ai ensuite proposé une pratique de danse et une scénographie sur écran vert qui explorent les images par la narration et le mouvement.

Chaque jour, au studio, l’un.e de nous devait décrire une image et en raconter l’histoire. Nous lui posions alors des questions, en tentant d’examiner l’histoire sous tous les angles et dans toutes ses lacunes. Le groupe ne pouvait pas voir la photographie, mais celle-ci se révélait — en totalité, en partie ou parfois pas du tout — à travers la chorégraphie.

La pratique de danse ne visait pas à reproduire la photographie ni à raconter l’histoire que nous connaissions déjà, mais bien à faire l’expérience de la potentialité de moments en apparence mineurs de notre passé. Notre but était désormais d’éprouver la nature inachevée de ces images et de bouger conformément à ce sentiment.

Éléments de la chorégraphie

Entrez dans l’espace une personne à la fois
Déplacez les objets et aménagez un nouvel espace (surtout si vous êtes la première personne à entrer)
Invitez l’image et l’histoire à envahir votre corps : pensez à comment inviter autrui dans votre corps
Bougez jusqu’aux limites, entrez dans le cadre
Faites vibrer l’espace
Tendez l’oreille et adaptez-vous à cette nouvelle présence : nos corps emmagasinent l’énergie
Renvoyez l’écho de l’action qui vient de se produire
Portez attention au changement qui vient de survenir
Ayez foi en l’adéquation entre la danse et l’histoire
Témoignage de trous | k.g. Guttman © Clark Ferguson

En photo : Paul Chambers
vers 1990
Nom de la photographe : probablement sa mère
Lieu: Saint-Henri, Montréal

En photo : Angie Cheng et son amie
Vers 1984
Photographe inconnu
Lieu: Cour d’école, Chinatown Ottawa

En photo : Paul Chambers
vers 1990
Nom de la photographe : probablement sa mère
Lieu: Saint-Henri, Montréal

En photo : k.g. Guttman
vers 2001
Nom du photographe : Tony Chong
Lieu: Cour des arts d’Ottawa, Le Groupe Lab de Danse


En photo : Marie Claire Forté
Chorégraphie de Marie Claire Forté
2014
Nom de la photographe : Alanna Kraaijeveld
Lieu: Circuit-Est, Studio C, Montréal

En photo : Koichi Yano et Rob Abubo
Chorégraphie de Tony Chong
vers 2003
Nom de la photographe : Lisa Hébert
Lieu: Cour des arts d’Ottawa, Le Groupe Lab de Danse

En photo : Ivanie Aubin-Malo et sa cousine
vers 1996-1997
Nom de la photographe : probablement Johanne Aubin
Lieu: Ville de St-Hubert, QC


Témoignage de trous | k.g. Guttman © Clark Ferguson

Discussion

Dernière journée de la résidence, 29 janvier 2021
Espace Bleu,  Agora de la danse

 

Ivanie Il y a quelque chose qui plane. Ce n’est pas juste la personne qui raconte qui a la pleine liberté de tout raconter. On doit avoir une sensibilité envers les autres de comment on raconte les histoires et où ça peut mener les autres dans leurs histoires. J’ai eu cette expérience avec Marie Claire : son témoignage m’a amenée dans mes histoires. Paul a eu une expérience similaire avec l’histoire de Rob.

 

Paul   À ce moment-là [après avoir entendu l’histoire de Rob], je n’avais pas de questions, mais je voulais entamer la conversation. Cependant, nous n’avions pas encore de place pour le faire. Je pense que nous pourrions tous les six parler de n’importe quoi pendant des heures. Comment nous assurer de pouvoir bouger après cela? Je me sentais complètement seul. Je me suis assis et j’ai regardé fixement l’écran, en prenant le temps d’examiner l’œuvre. Je suis parti du sentiment que cette conversation était impossible, comme cela arrive souvent dans la vie.

 

k.g. Ce n’est pas juste la photo qui dégage le contenu. C’est comment nous sommes bousculés. Pendant le mois, je n’ai pas donné de temps au récit au début. Au fur et à mesure, on a pris le temps, on a ajouté les questions : ça prend beaucoup de technique et de soin. J’ai sous-estimé ces méthodes de travail.

 

Paul Notre pratique a changé depuis le début. Lorsque nous avons commencé, nous cherchions davantage à faire écho aux actions des un.e.s et des autres. Nous travaillions tous sur cette proposition initiale. Au début, nous ne tirions pas autant d’éléments de l’histoire que maintenant. Je ne sais pas si c’est parce que nous rendons… Nous rendons l’histoire plus pertinente par nos actions.

 

Rob Je ne suis pas d’accord avec Paul. Dans mon cas, je me nourris de beaucoup plus d’éléments que ceux que nous avons mentionnés, y compris toutes les choses que nous avons abordées dans les derniers jours. Quand c’est mon tour d’y aller, je puise dans bien plus que l’histoire de vingt minutes qui nous sert de point de départ. Nous avons une connaissance commune des non-dits de l’histoire parce que nous en avons déjà entendu une autre version.

 

Angie Nous avons déjà discuté de cette question : l’histoire est-elle trop achevée? Tout en écoutant l’histoire, je l’absorbe, mais je ne cherche pas à trop m’y accrocher. Je m’observe moi-même en train de regarder. Je fais le choix de regarder ailleurs, au-delà de l’action. Mais pourquoi? Parce que je ne tiens pas aux objets ni même à l’histoire… J’évite de trop définir le récit, d’aplatir l’image. Le récit déborde du cadre. Il n’est ni fixe ni plat. Il présente différentes textures. Si l’image ou l’histoire est trop présente dans nos choix ou si nous en faisons trop pour la communiquer, celle-ci devient trop clairement définie.

 

Rob  Le fait de ne pas pouvoir se serrer dans nos bras ni pouvoir simplement arriver et nous échauffer les jambes… Notre rapport habituellement si tactile est complètement réprimé… Mais nous y sommes de plus en plus habitué.e.s. Le toucher pourrait êtr e une façon d’aborder ce qui nous intéresse ici. Sur une note plus personnelle, j’aimerais prendre quelqu’un dans mes bras tout de suite après, de façon à soutenir quelqu’un émotionnellement et non seulement par l’entremise de la danse.

 

Marie Claire J’aime la danse sous toutes ses facettes. J’aime toucher, écouter et ressentir. Le studio est un endroit plus sacré que jamais, ce dont j’étais convaincue même avant la pandémie.

Témoignage de trous | k.g. Guttman © Clark Ferguson

Réflexion

Travailler avec des archives, c’est se pencher sur le temps non linéaire ; c’est comprendre les images comme des vecteurs à la fois personnels et historiques qui doivent être mis en relation.

Ce projet a lieu sur des territoires autochtones non cédés, soit des terres et des eaux dont les Kanien’kehá:ka sont les gardien.ne.s traditionnel.le.s. Le projet se déroule pendant une pandémie et dans un contexte politique marqué par le racisme systémique.

La conscience de cette complexité et de ma position en tant que colonisatrice-invitée-danseuse influence ma pratique de la chorégraphie et de la danse. Mon histoire personnelle et mon agentivité sont étroitement liées à des forces sociopolitiques. Je suis une artiste blanche issue de la colonisation qui a invité des artistes blanc.he.s, autochtones et racisé.es à prendre part à ma démarche.
Cette invitation lancée à autrui exigeait de cultiver et de prendre en compte les relations, les vulnérabilités et les différences de chacun ; c’était un engagement à refuser de nier que nous dansons en portant sur nos épaules les traces de l’Histoire.

Notre projet ne vise pas à révéler les expériences personnelles de chacun.e par souci de transparence ou de reconnaissance ni dans le but de raconter une histoire clairement définie. Il s’agit plutôt d’une tentative de découvrir des liens intimes de manière inattendue par la mémoire, les vibrations et le mouvement.

Je considère Les trous dans les yeux comme une approche de la danse contemporaine à visée décoloniale ; comme une pratique qui comprend que situer l’identité et l’histoire personnelle de chacun.e est une première étape pour rendre compte de notre localisation et de nos capacités afin d’imaginer de nouvelles formes de relations.

Il s’agit d’une pratique de danse qui appelle à raconter des histoires, à se souvenir et à tendre l’oreille à la fois au sein du « cube noir » du théâtre et des corps des performeur.se.s dans le but d’exalter la beauté pas si évidente d’une forme de danse documentaire et spéculative.

Témoignage de trous | k.g. Guttman © Clark Ferguson

Biographies

Rob Abubo

L’œuvre, c’est moi, c’est nous, c’est l’équipe, nos passés, nos souvenirs, nos fictions…
Je viens de Winnipeg, j’ai des frères et sœurs, morts, vivants. Un enfant nu, d’abord, puis un autre, qui a un ami à Ottawa. Je vivais près de Somerset tout en travaillant chez leGroupe, avant les téléphones cellulaires. Clark (qui a filmé tout ça) attendait à l’appartement.
En tant qu’un parmi tant d’autres, je suis prêt à faire marcher quelqu’un jusqu’au bord du gouffre, mais j’ai découvert qu’accueillir un groupe près du précipice est inconfortable pour plusieurs.
J’aime mon amie, elle a un surnom. Elle est vraiment drôle et a documenté la carrière par des photos.
Enfant, je n’ai pas choisi un instrument à jouer, ce sont mes parents qui ont décidé.
Je suis porté par tout le monde, qu’ils me soient connus ou inconnus.
Je ne cherche vraiment pas à casser des trucs ; peut-être que je suis juste super fort?
J’aime avoir une photo/un souvenir spécial de cette période à Ottawa. Mes bras ont l’air plus longs qu’en réalité : une question de perspective.
Les gens écoutent mon histoire et pensent que j’ai eu la vie dure, mais c’est tout le contraire : nous sommes toujours là, et faire partie de cette équipe me rend meilleur.
Avec sincérité, ROBERT ABUBO

Angie Cheng

Angie Cheng est une artiste de la danse vivant à Montréal. Ses recherches en cours sur la performance sont fondées sur les processus de création collaboratifs ; elle étudie l’espace liminal entre le processus créatif et la performance comme évènement, entre les spectateur.trice.s et les performeur.euse.s. La compréhension incarnée et spécifique qui découle de ces recherches façonne ses questionnements et ses engagements actuels, tant dans son travail personnel que collaboratif.

Faites confiance à l’histoire, faites confiance à l’œuvre. Nous l’écoutons tous ensemble. C’est tout ce qu’elle a à faire.
Au moment de prendre des décisions que je suis et que j’observe en temps réel, j’évite de m’accrocher à des prévisions ou à des plans qui peuvent sembler trop prédéfinis.

Je demeure dans ces moments en accomplissant des tâches immédiates jusqu’à ce qu’elles soient terminées.
Je laisse aux observateur.trice.s l’espace nécessaire pour qu’il.elle.s puissent voir et établir un lien de leur point de vue.

Faire confiance à l’histoire.
Nous l’écoutons tous ensemble.

Ivanie Aubin-Malo

Nil nteliwis Ivanie, je m’appelle Ivanie.

Je n’aurais jamais pensé que le solo au Short and Sweet en janvier 2016 entamerait un cycle créatif avec k.g. et Marie-Claire. Je n’aurais pas pensé que le moment au bar de l’Agora sur la rue Cherrier à chanter « Robabubo » avec Rob et Stacey, ni que cette soirée d’ouverture du Fringe au Summerhall en compagnie de Paul et Angie seraient la continuité de ce cycle.
J’aime me lancer dans la vie et me faire surprendre par ses mouvements et rencontres. Ces flashs de vie, qui n’ont pas été captés par des appareils, ne manquent pas de substances pour exister dans ma mémoire visuelle et sensorielle…jusqu’à maintenant.

Tous réunis en studio, Janvier 2021.
Deux forces clés chez moi: le rythme, l’émotion.
L’émotion est étroitement lié au rythme et à l’intensité du moment.
Les gestes qui accompagnent l’histoire racontée m’affectent.

Reconnaitre que je suis la plus jeune du groupe, donc la distance temporelle entre les images et mon présent est moins étiré que d’autres, sûrement une force à considérer?

k.g. Guttman

Chorégraphe et chercheuse, danseuse, mère monoparentale, entité arborescente, hôtesse, invitée, chercheuse-colonisatrice qui réfléchit aux forces relationnelles qui l’habitent.

Dès notre arrivée à l’Espace bleu le 6 janvier 2021, l’annonce du couvre-feu et du reconfinement à Montréal nous est parvenue, de même que les échos d’une violente insurrection au sud de la frontière.

Comment travailler à devenir ultra-sensible aux autres en pleine menace de la COVID.

Comment ne pas retenir, contenir ou s’emparer trop fermement de choses prédéfinies.

Comment travailler, comme le dit Julietta Singh, avec « le corps comme une collection infinie de corps incarnés ».

Paul Chambers

Paul est diplômé du CEGEP John Abbott où il a étudié la conception d’éclairage, costumes et la scénographie. De 2008 à 2013, il a été directeur technique à Tangente dont la mission est la mise sur pied de spectacles en danse contemporaine.
En 2013, Paul et son collègue en éducation et en design, David-Alexandre Chabot, ont inauguré CHA, un collectif en design destiné à créer et à partager des projets avec des artistes de diverses disciplines. Le point commun des projets CHA, c’est qu’ils cherchent la communication avec les gens, chacune des productions mettant l’audience au défi de se placer au centre de la proposition et d’en faire l’expérience de l’intérieur. Paul poursuit continuellement des études et recherches en arts visuels et en sculpture, où il traduit sa passion pour l’éclairage dans des installations fixes ou en galerie.

Marie Claire Forté

Je suis Marie Claire Forté, femme blanche et cisgenre. Je vis à Tiohtiá:ke/Montréal, où je suis née (mais pas l’endroit où j’ai grandi). Je danse, chorégraphie, écris, traduis et enseigne. Je suis la mère d’Imogen Keith, trois ans, et sa présence parmi nous est une force qui me traverse quotidiennement. Grâce à elle, autant je baigne dans l’amour, l’écoute, l’observation, l’émerveillement, la découverte et la créativité, autant elle m’apprend sur la vulnérabilité, le soin, la communauté, l’attachement, l’autonomie et les émotions (la rage, entre autres). Le potentiel relationnel, expérientiel et expérimental de la danse m’anime. Ma famille et ma communauté me soutiennent dans ma pratique artistique. Des artistes et penseur.euses qui marquent mon parcours et ma pensée, dans le désordre (et avec des oublis) : Laurie Anderson, Alice Munro, Adrian Piper, Maggie Nelson, Rosanna Deerchild, Tracey Clayton, Heben Nigatu, Brittany Luse, Eric Eddings et Roxane Gay (que je n’ai jamais rencontré.es); Susan Macpherson, Peter Boneham, k.g. Guttman, Sophie Bélair Clément, Alanna Kraaijeveld, Louise Bédard, Catherine Lalonde et Sylvie Lachance. Dernièrement, Rob Abubo m’a amené à découvrir l’album But You Can’t Use My Phone (2015) d’Erykah Badu et cela m’a rappelé à quel point la musique est une force soutenante pour moi. La lumière aussi.

k. g. Guttman

1 avril au 30 juin 2021

Partager